When Did I Become a Teacher?

Standard

I was asked to contribute to the award winning blog, Teaching Village, by the author Barbara Hoskins Sakamoto. She was interested in my experience as a teacher teaching around  the world and my idea was to add something about the process of how, and more importantly why I decided to leave my full-time position in a bank and become a teacher.

For those of you reading this in the English speaking world, you might not be aware of the cultural leap into the abyss that I was taking by doing so. In Spanish society a permanent job with a bank is considered one of the best things you can do, whereas teaching… let’s just say that it doesn’t rate high on the envy scale except, of course, the infamous holidays.

Click over to Teaching Village to see my process. Thanks Barbara for giving me the chance to share the story.

2 thoughts on “When Did I Become a Teacher?

    • Conchi Martínez de Tejada

      Thank you Barbara. If it weren’t for people like you, making this decision might have ended up being the wrong one…but between supportive colleagues around the world and of course the smiling faces of my students…I have NEVER looked back. When are you going to come up with the next series? Count on me!

Leave a Reply

